Advisory Board

Landscape Architecture Professional Advisory Board (PAB)

The Landscape Architecture Professional Advisory board (PAB) is made up of former students and professionals in areas allied with landscape architecture. The Board supports the landscape architecture programs in a variety of ways. They host workshops and lectures at the College. In addition, they provide support for the landscape architecture career fair, assist students in finding intern positions and professional employment. Lastly, they make recommendations to the landscape architecture programs regarding professional development training/continuing education and strategic plan review.

Executive Committee

  • Aan Garrett Coleman, Coleman & Associates, Austin, Texas
  • Karl Von Bieberstein, RVI, Dallas, Texas
  • Mark Hatchel, Kimley-Horn and Associates Inc., Irving, Texas

Membership Classes

  • Brian Adams, Callison LLC., Dallas, Texas
  • Daryl Benkendorfer, Bury + Partners, Austin, Texas
  • Adrienne Bottoms, TBG Partners Inc., Houston, Texas
  • Ryan Bricker, HNTB UD+P, Dallas, Texas
  • Earl Broussard, TBG Partners, Inc., Austin, Texas
  • Paul Cozzolino, RVI, Dallas, Texas
  • John Cutler, SWA Group, Houston, Texas
  • Roberto Garcia, Garcia Design Inc., Austin, Texas
  • Lauren Griffith, Lauren Griffith Associates, Houston, Texas
  • Erin Harris, City of College Station, College Station, Texas
  • Alan King, The Land Design Group Inc., Bryan, Texas
  • Richard Mason, Texas Department of Transportation, Mesquite, Texas
  • Michael Murphy, Retired, Mason, Texas
  • Jim Patterson, White Oak Studios, Houston, Texas
  • Eric Perez, SWA Group, Houston, Texas
  • Austin Powers, Kimley-Horn and Associates, Inc., Irving, Texas
  • Jenny Qualls, Clark Condon Associates, Houston, Texas
  • Wesley Salazar, Kudela & Weinheimer, Houston, Texas
  • Merrie Talley, Talley Landscape Architects Inc., Orchard, Texas
  • Charlotte Tonsor, TBG Partners, Inc., Austin, Texas
  • Danny Watson, Rialto Studio, San Antonio, Texas

Urban Planning Professional Advisory Council (PLANPAC)

The Urban Planning Professional Advisory Council (PLANPAC) was created to build a support group between the program and key leaders in the design, planning, and development fields who share a common interest in the development of high-quality, functional, and sustainable built and natural environments. The PLANPAC assists the Urban Planning Program in addressing issues related to the creation of improved human environments, the education of students, and the condition of the natural environment.


  • Russell Bradley, '71, Dentist, College Station, Texas
  • Jim Carrillo, AICP, Vice President, Halff Associates, Austin, Texas
  • Joey Dunn, '94, Deputy City Manager, City of Bryan, Bryan, Texas
  • Elizabeth Grindstaff, '86, AICP, Assistant City Manager, City of San Angelo, Texas
  • Ed Hard, '85, Research Scientist, Texas Transportation Institute, College Station, Texas
  • Bob Hunter, '67, FAICP, Executive Director, The Planning Commission, Florida
  • Mark Linenschmidt, '04, AICP CFM, Senior Planner, City of League City, Texas
  • Juan Lopez, AICP, Director of Planning and Zoning, City of Edinburg, Edinburg, Texas
  • Mike McAnelly, '69, FAICP, Senior Planner/Project Manager, JACOBS
  • Gary Mitchell, '88, AICP, Vice President, Kendig Keast Collaborative
  • Michael Parks, AICP, Assistant Executive Director, Brazos Valley Council of Governments
  • Joseph Pobiner, AICP, Principal, JPC, Grapevine, Texas
  • Jennifer Prochazka, '02, AICP, Senior Planner, City of College Station, Texas
  • Rob Rae, '08, AICP, Planner ,Kimely-Horn & Associates, Irving, Texas
  • Tom Wesp, '87, AICP, Government Business Development Manager, ESRI, San Antonio, Texas
  • Sara Jane White, FAICP, retired
  • Jack Wierzenski, '83, AICP, Director of Economic Development, Dallas Area Rapid Transit

Master of Land and Property Development (MLPD) Development Industry Advisory Council (DIAC)

Complementing the academic MLPD content is the program's student association Real Estate Development Association, organized for development of leadership, communication and interpersonal skills, and for building students'; professional industry networks. Student leaders become industry leaders and join the MLPD's Development Industry Advisory Council (DIAC). Members participate in program management, fund scholarships, and provide guidance to students through its DIAC committees, such as the MLPD Mentors and the Collaborative Teaching Committees.

MLPD Development Industry Advisory Council (DIAC) Member List

  • Lisa Chain, Chair, '95,Vice President, Hillwood Residential, Spring, TX
  • Fred Balda, '82 President, Hillwood Communities, Dallas, TX
  • Peter Barnhart, '95, Vice President-Development, Caldwell Companies, Houston, TX
  • Jonathan Brinsden,'94, Chairman, ULI & CEO, Midway Companies, Houston, TX
  • Timothy Early, '91, Vice President Land Acquisitions, Brighton Homes, Houston, TX
  • Melissa Farr, '08, Sustainability Consultant, Green Grove Group (G3), Houston, TX
  • Andrew Guajardo, '08, Guajardo And Associate Architectural Services, San Antonio, TX
  • Dennis Jerke,'78, Principal, TBG Partners, Fort Worth, TX
  • Don Janssen, Senior Vice President, Planned Community Developers, Ltd., Sugerland, TX
  • Dan Leverett, '88, Vice President, The Woodlands Development Company, The Woodlands, TX
  • Angela Martinez, '06, Senior Urban Planner/Project Manager, Knudson, LP, Houston, TX
  • Jennifer Ray, '07, Director of Acquisitions and Development, Brass Real Estate Funds & Magi Real Estate, San Antonio, TX
  • Adrienne Schwartz, '00, Director of Business Development, Harrison Kornberg Architects, Houston, TX
  • David Staas,'98, Winstead PC Attorneys, Houston, TX
  • Ann Taylor, Executive Director, Urban Land Institute, Houston, TX